Skip to main content
Idaho Harvester home, Baby Joe Vandal logo
Special Collections and Archives, University of Idaho Library home
Featured Image

James Fenimore Cooper

Series: Cover to Cover

James Fenimore Cooper (1789-1851) is perhaps best known for his novel The Last of the Mohicans published in 1826. University of Idaho Library Special Collections has a collection of the complete set of his writings, known as the Author’s autograph edition, containing 33 volumes. It is limited to only 63 signed and numbered sets. The set in Special Collections and Archives is number 45. Included in Volume 2 is this manuscript sheet in Cooper’s handwriting.

James Fenimore Cooper
James Fenimore Cooper

The Last of the Mohicans was part of a frontier adventure series written by Cooper known as the Leatherstocking Tales. Other titles in the series include The Pioneers (1823), The Prairie (1827), The Pathfinder (1840) and The Deerslayer (1841).


Day 2 PS1400.F06

Have Feedback on this post or the site?

Send us your thoughts!